Meet the Studio: Ian Sharpe

Ian Sharpe will be entering his second year at Redlands. He is featured on the track “Gabriel’s oboe” on Josh Tuburan‘s new album, Smile.

How did you become interested in studying music?

I became interested in intensely studying music around my later high school years although I wanted to learn more about music as early as 6th grade.  Despite the fact that I started music back in fifth grade, I was somewhat forced into playing the clarinet (my first instrument).  When moving on to Middle School I switched to oboe out of pure boredom.  I thought the clarinet was too easy back then and wanted more of a challenge.  Little did I know that I was getting myself into one of the biggest challenges in my musical life.  Around that time is when I started my earliest “compositions.”  I vaguely remember downloading Finale NotePad 2005 from my school’s music website and Googling “what notes sound good together” to try to write a short piano piece.  I also took my favorite pieces, found the melodies, and thought how cool they would sound if played together.  That mindset continued throughout the three years of Middle School.  When I hit high school I received theory and music history classes which greatly enhanced my interest.  Showing a natural affinity to music theory and musical understanding, I took composition and conducting classes in the latter high school years to further my studies.

What is the most annoying assumption someone has made about your taste in music?

The most annoying assumption that people have made about my musical taste was that I only listen to pop punk/pop rock music.  Don’t get me wrong I do enjoy that scene in increments, but it’s just unsettling to think that one’s appearance judges their musical taste.  Whenever someone gets into my car and I start blasting The Used, Falling in Reverse, Escape the Fate, or Chiodos, they look at me in confusions and shock.

What is the wackiest inspiration for any of the pieces you have written or will soon write?

Okay, I’ve been listening to stand-up comedians for inspiration and learning entertainment pacing, and I’ve had a monologue by Bo Burnham stuck in my head for weeks.  One of his bits off of the show “Words, Words, Words” has a unique style and rhythm to it that I want to use in one of my pieces.

What do you think?

